Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

great war etchings/drawings

Soren

Hello Chris,

really successful, in the past, lots of exhibitions, studied etching for 8 years, and exhibited at the Royal Academy Summer Show 1998.

Have not shown the Great War stuff before, got a lot of stick from my course directors when I studied for a Master's, they thought the Great War imagery was too obscure and did'nt relate to the world around me...

I drew the line when they told me that I should go and spend the day drawing the day in the life of a supermarket!?!

The subject draws me back to it repeatedly....... now I've had some positive feedback, I'm just going to go for it, and ignore the more fashionable stuff I encounterred at college!!

The above makes sound bitter??? not bitter, just did'nt have the confidence with the WW1 imagery... there I'll shut up!

Regards

Soren

Hi Soren

Works for me! And as for the academic opinions, if the subject inspires you, go for it; the best work comes from personal inspiration & if your peers dont find the same inspiration in the subject, then they can keep drawing their chosen subject cant they?

Either that, or resign yourself to tins of Baked beans & stroppy people arguing with the manager, bored looking shelf filling staff flirting with each other, or customers racing trolleys down the fruit & veg aisle :lol:

hi Steve,

Now that you have described the supermarket as you have, I'm gonna get my pencil out get down there! What do you recommend? The SPAR or Waitrose????

Soren

Soren,

I like your stuff :) ,

I was going to do some WW1 drawings but I know it wont be as interesting and well executed as yours.

Keep up the good work.

L.

Steve,

The stretcher party is already an etching, I shall exhibit the next time I have a show, then see what the reaction is!