Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pals Cap and Shoulder Badges

trenchtrotter

Following on from discussions on the recent Leeds Pals thread a few of us thought it would be a good idea to start a discussion thread about Pals insignia in general. We also thought RND badges could be included. The idea is for members to post pictures of "good" badges and "bad" badges to help inform people. I hope that the thread will be courteous and if a so called bad badge is posted courteous feedback will be given to be either rejected or taken as one sees fit. Others viewing can make their own minds up.

I hope people find this thread useful and informative ( assuming it gets going)

To start I have posted my images of what I believe is a good and genuine 18th Middlesex cap badge ( Public Works).

Note I am not an expert but have been collecting Pals badges for a number of years and hope I have some knowledge. I have also put my trust in buying badges from the big boys with reputations but that is not always a guarentee. Anyhow I am happy with mine but always willing to get feed back.

post-15846-1232202510.jpg

post-15846-1232202522.jpg

Hi TT. I like the bend line on the slider(always forget the correct word!) and the fact that the Middlesex scroll ends are not turned up as on the standard badge. This is as pictures in the standard ref. books. I know some may be looking fo blow holes to the reverse, but all I can say is there are no 100% rules in life. Cheers, Paul.

Paul,

I had never heard the tip about the scrolls but looking ay a standard Middlesex badge I get your drift. Re the blow holes I have not seen these on any so called genuine 18th badges and they are not there on a Middlesex badge I have either. I tend to see them on badges with larger white metal overlays.

Look forward to seeing other items and views.

TT

Paul,