Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The 13th (Wirral) Bn Cheshire Regiment - The Wirral Pals

abbrover

Hello all,

I have been researching the 13th (Wirral) Bn Cheshire Regiment for the past 30 years or so. Over those years, I have accumulated a lot of information and have individual photographs (some excllent, some good, and some poor) of about 70-80% of the original lads of the Wirral Pal's; I also have about 90-95% of photographs of the battalions graves/places of commemoration (just a few more to get from far flung lands); and from the Nominal Roll of the Wirral Pal's first draft to be sent to France on 25th September, 1915, - and with the excellent help from a special friend - managed to track down documents for not only those men listed on this document, but also for 90% of those that were discharged whilst in training on medical grounds, which are indicated by gaps in the numbering of the Pals on the Nominal Roll. I have absolutely loved working on the research into this battalion.

If there are any of you who are maybe researching a war memorial or researching somebody from this battalion, I would be happy to help.

Likewise, if there is anybody out there that has photos of the 13th (Wirral) Bn Cheshire Regiment in training or on the Western Front, I would be very interested to hear from you.

Kindest regards

Pete Threlfall 

img025.jpg

865.jpg

Copy of IMG_8125 (2).jpg

IMG_0864.JPG

IMG_9829.JPG

W75 Sergeant James Joseph McNally No.4 Coy KIA.JPG

W261 Sgt Paul Forrester Mo.1 Coy. KIA 28.08.16.JPG

W856 Private George Jackson No.4 Coy DOW 23rd May, 1916.JPG

W418 LCpl William George Hughes No.2 Coy Killed in action 13th May, 1916.JPG

Hello Cheshire22