Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

World War One Military Bands

A.A.Savery

Being a musician I am always very pleased to see any photos of Military Bands.

I’ve played in Brass Bands, Big Bands, Orchestras, Small combos and taught quite a few kids to play wind instruments.

One of the biggest delights I find, is hearing and watching a military band playing.

The Edinburgh Military Tattoo is a wonderful spectacle, seeing the all the various bands of different regiments and I include here the Pipe Bands. To learn to play the bagpipes is still on my list.

Therefore when a magnificent photo of a Great War Military Band appeared in one of the threads the other day I drooled over it for ages. I can’t even find it now!

Could we start a thread for all the photos that surely must be around?

Any nice photos possibly from postcards, with either bands or instruments from that time, will shut me up for a while.

Here is a very good website with an enormous amount of brass players and bands from way back.

http://www.harrogate.co.uk/HARROGATE-BAND/indexlk6.htm

Thanks,

Tony

Tony

Another with similar interests. I've played in brass bands all my life and am currently conducting a Non-Contesting Town Band.

Worth remembering that many of the players in Territorial and Service Battalion Bands came from brass bands indeed some bands followed the Brass Band Instrument configuration.

Dave

QUOTE (Phil_B @ Feb 5 2007, 03:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Thanks Phil,

That's the one I was looking for.

Tony

Tony

Another with similar interests. I've played in brass bands all my life and am currently conducting a Non-Contesting Town Band.

Worth remembering that many of the players in Territorial and Service Battalion Bands came from brass bands indeed some band followed the Brass Band Instrument configuration.

Dave

Hi Dave,

So I am not alone!

What's your main instrument Dave?

I'm really a trumpeter, but I do dabble in a few others.