Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help Needed

Penfoldisking

I work as a volunteer with CWGC and have a private grave that shows a record that the individual served and died within dates to be commemorated by CWGC but isn't registered. His memorial shows he served in South Notts Hussars and also states he served in France, Egypt and Gallipoli. My problem is he only got commissioned (Cadet to Lt) in 1917 by which time Gallipoli was over. Am I looking for an ex ranker who served in Gallipoli getting commissioned at a later date?   

A name and service number would help

along with any other info you have parents location ect

3 hours ago, Penfoldisking said:

I work as a volunteer with CWGC and have a private grave that shows a record that the individual served and died within dates to be commemorated by CWGC but isn't registered. His memorial shows he served in South Notts Hussars and also states he served in France, Egypt and Gallipoli. My problem is he only got commissioned (Cadet to Lt) in 1917 by which time Gallipoli was over. Am I looking for an ex ranker who served in Gallipoli getting commissioned at a later date?   

Hi @Penfoldisking and welcome to the forum :)

Do I take it you believe him to be a missed commemoration, rather than one where the CWGC have him on the Roll of Honour but don't know where he is buried?

Given the scenario you have set out certainly seems a likely possibility that he was an ex-ranker. A quick check of the MiC's listed in the National Archive catalogue with the criteria Unit = Nottinghamshire Hussars and rank = Lieutenant brings up 118 matches, so as Ray says it's probably a good idea to give us a name and some basic biographical details if you have them and see what the forum hive mind can turn up!

Cheers,
Peter

I too volunteer with the CWGC, many private graves are regarded as commemoration. If he is listed by the CWGC as in a private grave, then he is commemorated.