Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Head stamp identification ?

Dorset1

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the forum ! Apologies if this is on the wrong thread ! Any chance anyone could identify some what I believe to be ww1 German ammunition ? Anyone willing to tell me what each signifies would help me bothering folk in the future ? ;-) I've had a go below.

I'm guessing S means Spitzer and that they are 1917 ?

S / H / 11 / E17 suggestion of manufacturer below:

H Rheinische Metallwaren und Maschinenfabrik, Dusseldorf, Germany 1

S / L / 10 / E17 - manufacturer suggestions below ?

L Lorenz Patronenfabrik (Ammunition & Ordnance Co.), Karlsruhe, Germany 11, 12

L Lindener Zündhütchen-und Thonwarenfabrik, Hannover, Germany 1

L Lignose A.-G., Berlin, Germany 3

S / DM / 11 / E17 manufacturer suggestion below

=Deutsche Waffen-u. Munitionsfabriken A.-G., , Früher Lorenz , Karlsruhe, Germany 1

SE / C / 12 / 17

C Munitionsfabrik Cassel, Cassel, Germany 1

post-124468-0-60140400-1442871965_thumb.

post-124468-0-78224200-1442871980_thumb.

You have most of the manufacturer's correctly identified, but I will list my interpretations of the markings below to allow for a comparison.

(With thanks to our late friend Tony Edwards who was kind enough to teach most of us here, the basics of Imperial headstamp markings) :thumbsup:

S / H / 11 / E17 .... Spitzgeschoss (pointed bullet), Rheinische Metallwaren und Maschinenfabrik, made November 1917, Einheitshülse (standard case)

S / L / 10 / E17 .... Spitzgeschoss (pointed bullet), Lindener Zündhütchen und Thonwaarenfabrik, made October 1917, Einheitshülse (standard case)

S / DM / 11 / E17 ... Spitzgeschoss (pointed bullet), Deutsche Waffen und Munitionsfabriken, made November 1917, Einheitshülse (standard case)

SE / C / 12 / 17 ..... Spitzgeschoss - Eisenhülse (pointed bullet, steel case), Munitionsfabrik Cassel, made December 1917

Cheers, S>S