Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Turkish POW's and POW's in AfyonKarahisar

Dogan Sahin

Hi,

I have just joined and found the site an invaluable source for those interested in history.

I am an amateur researcher/writer and am interested in history of wars. Currently I am working on Turkish POW's kept in Sidibishir camp in ww1. I would much appreciate it if you could help me finding names, diaries, memoirs of those who were kept there and/or accounts of those who worked there.

I live in AfyonKarahisar city in Turkey. A media group has asked me to compile information on those British, Australian, French soldiers kept in Afyonkarahisar town. We know that there were 3 POW's who unfortunately died in the camps and were buried in the old cemetary here (which is now non-existent). We are thinking of erecting symbolic tombstones for those soldiers in an appropriate place in Afyon (this is just in the planning stage at the moment). So I would appreciate any info, pictures etc. on those who were kept in AfyonKarahisar camp. You may if you wish write to me private emails.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Quote: "Currently I am working on Turkish POW's kept in Sidibishir camp in ww1. I would much appreciate it if you could help me finding names, diaries, memoirs of those who were kept there and/or accounts of those who worked there"

Dogan,

Welcome to the Great War Forum.

In case you do not know of it already, then go to

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/10589/10589-h/10589-h.htm

and there see the text of the book

TURKISH PRISONERS IN EGYPT

A Report By The Delegates Of The International Committee Of The Red Cross

Extracted and translated from the Official Reports of the Red Cross Society

(Documents publiés à l'occasion de la Guerre Européenne, 1914-1917)

Published in 1917

In particular see

"chapter 7. Sidi Bishr Camp. (Visited on January 6, 1917.)"

Sorry I cannot be of more help. Best of luck with your research