Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Soldiers From Just Photos?

Suffolk_Cousins

I have recently inherited an old photo album from the early 1900's. It contains alot of photos of Soldiers with their regiment badges visable but sadly no names on the back. I was wondering if it is possible to identify a soldier from these photos some how? Or is that just wishful thinking?

Hi Suffolk Cousins, probably a good place to start would be to post some of the pics on the forum and see what happens, there's plenty of eyes around here that can ID badges, and if they are related to you I guess there's a strong possibility that they can be identified

cheers, Jon

Please upload your photos, some of us need confirmation of the regiment in which our ancestors served, your photos may hold answers for us. Thanks.

I will scan the photos in asap.

You'll have to excuse me because I'm a complete novice at this but what I was wondering was when a soldier was part of a regiment did he have a photo taken to be attached to his 'file'?

I'd say not Suffolk, most of the photos were done by high street photographersfor individual soldiers to send home to family and loved ones, some may have been produced for battalion histories etc. Looking forward to viewing your pics,

cheers, Jon

I was wondering was when a soldier was part of a regiment did he have a photo taken to be attached to his 'file'?

No, the idea of photo IDs was not part of the 'culture'. Also the technology was a little cumbersome. Most studio photos were taken on plate cameras and prints taken directly from the glass negative (contact prints).

Photos might be in regimental records if the soldier had done something 'special' (e.g. won an inter regimental boxing champoinship, marksman competition etc.)

Thanks for your replies everyone :) All help regarding the uniforms, medals, badges, regiments etc is much appeciated as I truly don't have a clue!!