Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Soldier's Memoirs: 2/6 South Staffordshire Regt.

Steve Favill

I'm a newbie, so please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong section.

I thought that others might be interested in what we have found out about my great-uncles who served in the ill-fated 2/6 South Staffordshire Regiment. Both were L/Cpls, and were signallers. Their names were 240913 William Herbert Lewis and 240895 Arnold Wilfred Favill.

They became great friends, so much so that Arnold became engaged to marry Bill's sister, Elizabeth and both families became close.

Bill was gassed at Bourlon Wood in November 1917, and was evacuated to England, thus surviving the war. Arnold stayed with the battalion and was killed along with most of his comrades during the German offensive on March 21st 1918. His name is on the Arras Memorial.

After the war, Elizabeth married Arnold's older brother, who had served in India with the Manchester Regiment. They became my grandparents.

A little human interest story, strange how things work out.......Bill wrote down some of his experiences, if anyone is interested, I could post them?

Hi South Staffs, very nice memoirs to have, and if you're happy to share them I would very much appreciate sharing in them. To have such personal memoirs is a priceless gem. Feel free to PM me or my e-mail add. is on my profile, cheers for now, Jon :D

Hi South Staffs;

First person records are vitally important in filling in the gaps of official documents, as well as enlightening us in the lives of those who fought.

Certainly you should post them together with any photos- they will add more grist to our various mills

Stephen ;)

Dear South Staffs,

I'm sure everyone here would be pleased to read your great-uncles' experiences. How about posting them here, in the manner that Kevin is currently doing in his Milward thread?

Milward thread