Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Boy Scouts in WW1

Geert Spillebeen

Hi,

I am still a rookie on this forum.

I am leading a research about the link between WW1 and the First Boy Scouts.

As you may know 2007 is the 100th anniversary of the first Boy Scout Camp, a test camp in august 1907 on Bronwsea Island. Baden Powell took some 20 boys to that camp to test his scouting theories.

Some of these boys died a few years later during WW1 in Flanders & France.

I have quite a bit of information about some of them, BUT NO PICTURES.

Could someone help me find photographs of :

2LT M.C.Wroughton, 12 Royal Lancers, died 30 Oct.1914

2LT W.F.Rodney, Rifle Brigade (att. to Royal Flying Corps), died 9 May 1915

2LT Marc A.P. Noble, Royal Field Artillery, 1 July 1917

Any information is welcome.

Greets, GEERT B)

Geert - do you have a complete list of all those who attended this camp, and do you know if there is a 'Scouts Roll of Honour' for WW1?

Geert,

From the 1915 Rifle Brigade Chronicles.

2nd Lieutenant Hon. F.W. Rodney

Francis William Rodney was the fourth son of the seventh Baron Rodney and Corisande, second daughter of the first Lord Wimborne and was born 2nd October 1896, educated at Shrewsbury College and the Royal Military College, Sandhurst. He was appointed to the 5th (Reserve) Battalion in December 1914 and joined the Royal Flying Corps and did duty in Flanders with No. 3 Squadron. On 9th May 1915 when carrying on his observations he was shot down and killed. He was buried at Chocques near Bethune.

Hope this helps a little, unfortunately I do not have a picture of him.

Andy

Geert - do you have a complete list of all those who attended this camp, and do you know if there is a 'Scouts Roll of Honour' for WW1?