Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

War diaries - Gallipoli

ZackNZ

Merry Xmas everyone from down under :)

Does anyone have contacts details (especially electronic) for any war diaries that cover the allies’ involvement on Gallipoli?

Cheers

Zack

Hello Zack - Are you referring to ANZAC units or British units? (Or French units for that matter!) I have been successful in getting the NA at Kew to photocopy and mail what WD's are available for the units I'm interested in to me in California - after they were found tucked away in the 29th Divisional Artillery War Diaries by a friend (and forum member) at Kew! And they sent only the dates I requested (14 August 1914 to 31 December 1915). The copies were very good and reasonably priced. I have no experience with Australian unit war diaries - are they kept in Australia or at Kew?

Forgive me if that sounds like a dumb question, but that would be of interest to more than a few folks who are researching action at Gallipoli.

Cheers back at ya'!

Mike Morrison

Hi Zack

Merry Xmas from up here :)

I have the 5th Bedfords Gallipoli diaries etc. If you want, they are on my web site along with a fair bit more. The 5th Btn "front page" that will take you to wherever you wanna go is here - http://www.bedfordregiment.org.uk/5thbattalion.html - and theres a Suvla battle story here http://www.bedfordregiment.org.uk/id16.html 15th to 16th August 1915.

Anything else give me ashout as I have all sorts of odds & ends for the 5th Beds.

Cheers :D

Steve, Thanks for the reminder that WE might have something of interest. I've transcribed a couple of WD's of relevance to me forgetting that they might be of interest to others as well! :blink:

Zack,