Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Y Sap Crater site

Paul Reed

As I mentioned on a previous thread, this site has recently been sold and the sign erected on it indicates a house will be built there - they'll certainly have a deep cellar!!!! :blink:

Another part of the old battlefields gone forever; although the crater was filled in around 1977/78, the white scar in the chalk was visible every time they ploughed.

Good job Richard Dunning purchased Lochnagar all those years ago.

Paul - Are you sure its a cellar they'll have or the 'mother-of-all-swimming-pools'? :D

Seriously though, Richard showed a good piece of thinking when he saved Lochnagar. It's a shame I'm not rich enough to buy up some of these places for future generations to visit. :(

• 3 weeks later...

I would not have thought that a filled in mine crater was a suitable site to build a house. I am not an engineer, but I would have thought that there would be all sorts of problems in the future with subsidence and shifting foundations.

Nor me, but there is an estate agent sign on the road border for the field where it is situated noting it has been sold and that shortly a house will be built there! :blink:

• 4 weeks later...

In France, a "permis de construire" is needed to build house or other building. It is delivered by the Maire of the parish

Recent accidents, inundations, movements in the soil have made Maires a little more cautious in delivery

Opposition is open to all interests. Historical or archeologic value is admitted. Explaining danger to the future owner may also be productive

An action, signified to the local Press by representative of soldiers having fought there could stop the construction, or open way to municipal musée on the site.