Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Did my Great Grandfather fight/die in WW1 ?

bravehearts

Hello everyone

I have just registered as a new user and would like to ask for some help.

My Great Grandfather was Harry WRIGHT b 1885. He married Elizabeth SMALLWOOD in 1905 in Aston, Birmingham. They were living at 16 Park St, Aston in 1905. Harry's occupation was a Tool Maker.

In 1909 Harry was living at 13 Pugh Rd, Aston Manor, his Occupation being Machine Fitter.

I am led to believe that he served in the Great War.

Please, please could someone help me to discover if he did enlist and fight/die in the war.

The rest of my family are deceased, so I have no way of asking around for information. I am relatively new to military genealogy, so any help will be greatly appreciated.

I have looked at CWGC web site, but there are just too many H or Harry WRIGHT's, most without age etc.

Thank you for your time

Rob

Welcome to the Forum, Rob.

One of the Pals will probably be able to assist you using "Soldiers who died in the Great War".

In the mean time I will start to see if he is commemorated on a war memorial near Ashton :)

Hi Robert, to have much chance of finding out about your relative you need a little more information and its best obtained from family . Did he serve? what service or what regiment and did he survive? for starters. If he died in the war you will have a fair chance of finding him either by trawling through all the CWGC entries for H wright, or if your lucky someone on the site may be able to help. But without more information it would be difficult. If your family dont know prehaps the best place to start would be a death certificate. This ay least will tell you if he was a casualty or not. Gareth

One of the Pals will probably be able to assist you using "Soldiers who died in the Great War".

In the mean time I will start to see if he is commemorated on a war memorial near Ashton :)

Thanks Ashton :)