Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RGA Which Unit

KevinW

I am new to this and this is my first post. Is it possible to find out which unit my grandfather served with. I know he was in the RGA. Sadly my own father is no longer with us to ask.

Grandfathers details:

Wheaton, Albert E

Corps: Royal Garrison Artillery

Regiment No: 70485

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Welcome to the forum.

Your best option is to get a copy of his medal card from the NA and then try and get some kind person on the forum, if you can't go youself, to get copies of the medal roll. My own Grandfather was in the RGA and through the medal roll it showed his unit (14th siege Battery).

Gary

The number would seem to indicate a regular army unit which given the distibution of this number series may relate to a centralised recruitment centre such as a Derby scheme depot. As has been indicated the medal rolls may give some more information.

Roop

Edited by KONDOA

Thanks for the replies. I do have a copy of my grandfathers Mic but i am having problems reading it. I have attached if anyone can help me on this one

Thanks

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Not a very clear image of the MIC but I can tell you whats what.

He received the British and Victory medals and if you take the roll numbers to the NA you need to get the new roll location by getting info from the two books there. (Or give someone thats going to the NA this info to look up for you). Their is no first theatre so its very unlikely that he served before 1916.

I also noticed a link on the forum today for NA look-ups for a donation of £10, this would be a good easy option for you.

Gary

"Their is no first theatre so its very unlikely that he served before 1916."

Not quite , he may well have joined up 1914 but not gone overseas until 1916 like many thousand others did.

Kevin, was your GF by any chance from the London or SE area??

Roop

Edited by KONDOA