Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

James Hilary Spencer - Lancashire Fusiliers

historyfan3

Hi,

I am doing some research on soldiers from WW1 and I have chosen James Hilary Spencer (JH) of Haslingden Lancashire. I was wondering if anyone had any information on war medals, honours or other connections. As well as this, I’m wondering if anyone has any stories or knows any relatives of James Hilary.

Thanks,

• Admin

You now tell us he was a Captain.

Officers did not have Service Numbers.

Do you have any other information about him you want to share before members go off and dig out all sorts of information that you might already have?

Yes sorry, I am fairly new to WW1 and this is my first research. I have a lot of images that I found online which I will attach. I have information about his school days as well. He went from Brasenose College, Oxford and joined the Lancashire Fusiliers. He later became a captain after an injury at Suvla Bay.

IMG_4493.jpeg

IMG_4488.jpeg

IMG_4489.jpeg

IMG_4490.jpeg

IMG_4491.jpeg

IMG_4492.jpeg

IMG_4487.jpeg

IMG_4486.jpeg

2 hours ago, historyfan3 said:

He later became a captain after an injury at Suvla Bay.

I'd be questioning the story that he was injured at Suvla Bay, as his medal index card shows he first entered a theatre of war on 14 December 1917 in France. If he had been at Suvla Bay he would have been eligible for the 1914-15 Star and there is no mention of that on the card. He was first commissioned as a Second Lieutenant with the 3rd Battalion of the Lancashire Fusiliers on 15 August 1914, so there is no chance that he was at Suvla Bay as an enlisted man, with a possible separate entry for a 1914-15 Star.

https://www.thegazette.co.uk/London/issue/28879/page/6698

Image sourced from Ancestry:

30850_A001467-00673.jpg

Edited by Tawhiri

There are so many inconsistencies with this account.

He is buried at Lille, which is in France, over 270 miles from Limburg POW camp.