Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hello all, I've been studying my 2x granduncle who served in the British Army with the 252nd Siege Battery from May 1916 till his death July 17,1917 he died of his wounds in casualty clearing station 17 at Remy sidings and buried in lijssenthoek military cemetery. In the war diary it shows the 252nd was, what seems to say at "vijverhoek" on the day of his death but that is on the other side of Ypres from Remy sidings seems odd. Am I reading it wrong? I'm a complete noob at this stuff. If ya'll have any info yall can give me about this, and just in GENERAL about Henry Ryan please let me know and God willing maybe pictures mentioning him. Or Anything to do with the 252nd 

(I'm also in the U.S. so time zones will mess with response time)

Thanks all - William  

Screenshot 2024-02-26 210205.png

Screenshot 2024-02-27 180708.png

Edited by will2003

Welcome to the forum...and good luck with your research.

Some family details from his documents in case you don't have them-sourced from Fold3

image.jpeg.7ba259c96090e830cd5f201d208cbc94.jpeg

George

William,

You have shown a page from the higher formation war diary that 252 Sge came under control of at the time namely 53 HAG (Heavy Arty Group). The official war dairy for 252 proffers more precise information. (NA internal ref: WO95/226/8)

16 July 1917 position Vermoorzeele.

“A 4.2 H.E. landed in No2 gun pit, killing one and wounding 3 other ranks. Enemy bombarded the position with gas shell during the night.”

17 July 1917

“One other rank wounded yesterday died of wounds”.

The fatality on the 16th was Gnr 83866 F. Kettlewell with yours being the OR mentioned on the 17th. One of the other three OR’s wounded at the time died on the 20th: Gnr 182994 A. Wingate. The battery had been in that position since the 09.07.1917 on moving its 6in Howitzers forward from Vlamertinghe. Henry was a original battery member.

Rgds Paul