Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Help Request: Thomas Hanson Averill

GARY BROAD

Morning all,  I'm researching an old-school, old-boy for a CWGC For Evermore story and would really appreciate some help and guidance in terms of his service record...

All I can find is that he served as a 2nd Lieut. (temp) in the 17th Bn of the Kings (Liverpool Regiment) and also as an Acting Sergeant, Lieut. in the Army Vetinary Corps. 

Apologies for my lack of understanding, but does that suggest he started as a Vetinary Corps NCO and then got attached/transferred to the Kings and promoted on a temporary basis to Lieutenant?? Would that make sense?

Any help would be gratefully appreciated - thanks!

Gary B

Jrmh, thanks so much for that. As I'm new to this type of research, if I request a Page Search with the NA - how should I word my request?  (apologies for my ignorance, I'm still learning - very keen though - and like an excited puppy when I actually manage to find something!)

I think I read that it's £8.00 per page....  so I can request a few and it would still be cheaper than a visit to Kew!

Thanks again for your help, It really is very much appreciated.

All the best, Gary B

I’m not sure of the exact process, the other option is to use an independent researcher - there may be someone on this forum who might be able to help you? 

Thanks again - I've just downloaded the War Diary  which confirms his death (on a different date to the one I had)  in a "working party on the frontline."

I think the process of requesting his service file is simple enough but its the the terminology to use that I'm a tad baffled by!

Gary B

• Admin
2 minutes ago, GARY BROAD said:

Thanks again - I've just downloaded the War Diary  which confirms his death (on a different date to the one I had)  in a "working party on the frontline."

I think the process of requesting his service file is simple enough but its the the terminology to use that I'm a tad baffled by!