Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Divisional signs on helmets--their purpose.

20th Division

Good Morning. I have a raw edge Brodie helmet sporting a painted and very- very faded but well-executed 20th division sign on it.  I have NO doubts that the sign is contemporary with the helmet's original age. My questions are:-

What purpose did these signs on helmet serve? Wasn't this a security risk if the soldier was captured by the enemy? Given the seeming rarity of these divisionally marked helmets, Is it more likely that the divisional sign was painted on by the soldier soon after the war ended--when the helmet was taken as a souvenir? If so, were the soldiers allowed to take home their own tin hat when demobbed? --Or on leave? 

I hope to get a picture of the helmet on this post, but I'm not very good with modern technology. I'll ask my 5 year old grandson to give me a hand when he comes over next, there could therefore be a delay.  Many Thanks to anyone who can help. Dave.

14 hours ago, 20th Division said:

Good Morning. I have a raw edge Brodie helmet sporting a painted and very- very faded but well-executed 20th division sign on it.  I have NO doubts that the sign is contemporary with the helmet's original age. My questions are:-

What purpose did these signs on helmet serve? Wasn't this a security risk if the soldier was captured by the enemy? Given the seeming rarity of these divisionally marked helmets, Is it more likely that the divisional sign was painted on by the soldier soon after the war ended--when the helmet was taken as a souvenir? If so, were the soldiers allowed to take home their own tin hat when demobbed? --Or on leave? 

I hope to get a picture of the helmet on this post, but I'm not very good with modern technology. I'll ask my 5 year old grandson to give me a hand when he comes over next, there could therefore be a delay.  Many Thanks to anyone who can help. Dave.