Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Law on "defectively deactivated" firearms.

yperman

I am a novice with deacs and live in England  - what does the legal term "defectively deactivated" and EWD mean please? I bought a small collection of deacs  10 odd years ago with deac certs from dealers. Some of them were deactivated in the 1990s and are very early deactivations. I have no intention of selling them or gifting them to anyone - does the law now mean  I have to do anything with them?  I find this really confusing!

Many thanks 

Yperman

The short answer is that you don’t have to do anything with them if you don’t intend to transfer them.

I have a deactivated No4 Lee enfield that came from the hill 62 museum when it closed. I've had it since the late 80's if i remember rightly. The firing pin has been removed and welded up. The Barrel has a rod welded into it and has been cut in half and rewelded together. No way is that thing firing anything but it would probably be deemed illegal. But i'm not selling it or giving it up.

Edited by vectisitch

1 hour ago, peregrinvs said:

The short answer is that you don’t have to do anything with them if you don’t intend to transfer them.

Thank you very much! I struggle with deacs and the law.

1 hour ago, vectisitch said:

I have a deactivated No4 Lee enfield that came from the hill 62 museum when it closed. I've had it since the late 80's if i remember rightly. The firing pin has been removed and welded up. The Barrel has a rod welded into it and has been cut in half and rewelded together. No way is that thing firing anything but it would probably be deemed illegal. But i'm not selling it or giving it up.

Sounds a nice piece.  Shame the museum went. Is the Sanctuary wood museum and bar still open?

4 hours ago, vectisitch said: