Remembered Today:

Is this a WW1 helmet?

Arne Vandendriessche

Hey,

Is this a WW1 helmet?
I found it with my metal detector.
I think it's zinc.
I found some leather scraps inside.
There are two holes next to each other on the edge every 3.5 cm, perhaps for straps? Can someone explain me more?

Arne

20220405_184613.jpg

20220405_184602.jpg

20220405_184626.jpg

20220405_184816.jpg

20220405_184537.jpg

I have zero knowledge about WW1 helmets but here’s my guess.

An Adrian helmet? The row of holes in my creative mind would be to attach the brim.

As always, I wait to be shot down when it turns out to be a mixing bowl !

Simon

Thanks

I don't think it can be that kind because mine is not steel but zinc. It could also be a cooking pot, but why would there be holes in it, and how did that leather get in there?
A while ago I was magnet fishing, I thought I had found a steel helmet but it turned out to be a pot to pee in :blink:

Arne

I suppose if it were an Adrian it should show some signs of fixing for the badge and the ridge (expert terminology.... not).

I can't quite beat your "pot to pee in" but many years ago in a small wood close to Vimy Ridge I thought I'd found a helmet in the undergrowth which did in fact turn out to be a discarded enamel mixing bowl which I suspect previously belonged to the local shooting club whose hq/hut was about 10m away.

Simon

thanks,

Can anyone confirm that this is indeed a helmet?

Greetings Arne

28 minutes ago, Arne Vandendriessche said:

Here the infrastructure of the helmet seems to match my find

https://www.olympiaauctions.com/sales/arms-armour/as070514/view-lot/176/

Its a skull cap i think

Where did you find it Arne? Which part of the country?

Hey,

I found it in Poperinge in Belgium.
That location was behind the front, but there was a British hospital treating casualties from different countries.

Arne

12 minutes ago, Arne Vandendriessche said:

Hey,

I found it in Poperinge in Belgium.