Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Finding Grandpa's WW1 Medals

lookingformedal

Hi Everyone,

I have recently been researching my family history and am trying to find Grandpa's War Medals.

I have his Service Number (17441), DOB and Name, but apart from that I do not know too much.

I have no experience with this am not sure what the next step is?

Greatly appreciate any suggestions or help anyone has.

• Admin

The British Medals Forum has a wants section, and you can set an alert up on Ancestry I believe.

Hi @lookingformedal and welcome to the forum.

To have qualified for any service medals in the Great War, the service person had to have at the very least served overseas. When it came to issuing medals at the end of the war the clerks at the relevant records office created a Medal Rolls Index Card, (frequently referred to as a MiC) to keep track of the documentation and any associated correspondence.

These MiCs are held at the National Archive, and looking at their catalogue I an not seeing anyone with surname Woods or Wood with service number 17741.

So at this point I'm not seeing any medals to find.

Could be a mistake on my part but it will probably help us to help you if you tells a bit more about your grandfather. Where and when was he born, parents details, where and who did he marry - as little or as much as you can. Also what is the source of the service number 17741?