Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Thoughts on touring August

harley1962

Just wondering on anyone's thoughts on travelling to the Somme this August as it looks likely restrictions will be lifted re quarantine.

We were due to go April and had to cancel but the ferry company would only offer me re booking by December. The last couple of years we have gone in April and August, as i work in a school i can only have time off when the kids are off.

Thoughts please.

• Admin

I guess it's a case of looking at the Gov.uk website to see what restrictions on travel are by then. Personally speaking, I wouldn't go near the Somme of Salient, as they will be very crowded when travel restrictions ease, plus I'm not that interested in the areas any more. 

Michelle 

Everything remains unclear in my opinion. If the number of infections would rise again, there may be new lockdowns/travel restrictions. I think that the summer may be the only period left to do some travelling in the foreseeable future as the new flu season in the autumn may cause new corona hysteria and thus again strong measures until ... This is only my opnion though.

2 minutes ago, Michelle Young said:

I guess it's a case of looking at the Gov.uk website to see what restrictions on travel are by then. Personally speaking, I wouldn't go near the Somme of Salient, as they will be very crowded when travel restrictions ease, plus I'm not that interested in the areas any more. 

Michelle 

I don't think there's that much of a risk when one is outside and keeps enough distance.