Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Identification of uniform and bages please. Soldier 2

Elaine.01944

OPUncle Arthurin uniform.jpgIf any member of the Forum is able to help in the identification of uniform and badges on the photographs of WW1 soldiers that would be very helpful and much appreciated. This is my Great Uncle Arthur Doran who did survive the war.

I'm no expert, but it looks to me rather like the Worcestershire Regiment. In any case, I have done my best to get reasonable close-ups of the cap and shoulder badges, and hopefully others will express an opinion.

William

Edit: The shoulder title doesn't look like Worcester Regiment at all, so possibly ignore my suggestion!

aaa.jpgaab.jpg

Edited by WilliamRev

Cap Badge looks very much like the Cheshire Regiment to me as it appears to have the acorn in the centre.

Steve

Edited by SteveE

And the shoulder title doesn't look like the Worcesters' either - seems to start with a 'C'/

Cheshire for me, too.

Well done Jrmh. But here's a PIC of the badge anyway, Chris.                                     

00abb1jb45fuss63_69.jpg

Thank you to everyone that replied.  The Cheshires makes sense.  He lived on the Lancs/Ches border.  Now I have to find his records if I can.  He was injured whilst serving but survived.  Would there be a particular place to start? 

A good place to start is on the Long Long Trail website HERE, Also, if you could give us his full name and any details that you have on him, I'm sure that people will be able to help.

William

Hi William - hit a biggish snag already!  This photo is thought to be Arthur Doran born 1897 in Hyde, Cheshire and died 1973.  However, this soldier is identified as Cheshire Regiment but looking on Ancestry I have found Uncle Arthurs medal card which says he was in the Army Service Corp.  T/364136.  I have not found any other info on Ancestry.

Elaine