Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

KIA Themes

CameronStockton

I have always wondered what attraction is to KIA medals as opposed to non KIA. KIA are commemorated on various Memorials etc, where as those how survived the war, seem to be forgotten.

Perhaps it's simply that those KIA are easier to research?

I agree that it tends to make those who survived, yet probably suffered for years the effects of the trenches, PoW, wounds etc seem to be counted as less worthy, which is unfair.

It's taking the less challenging part, collecting KIA just for the KIA aspect alone.

But collectors have to start somewhere before something ignites a passion for some specific aspect.

True collectors have to start somewhere. I have been collecting for just over 30 years, and still have no focus. I seem to pick up whatever interests me at the time. Primarily I collect WWI medals to Canadians. I have no KIAs at all in the WWI area. I picked up a pair just because the of the answer on his attestation papers, are you married? reply, Yes, No about to be. I figured the lad could not figure out if he was married or not, I wanted the pair.

On the subject of KIAs, these groups command a premium for sure. first day of the Somme casualty seems to be 1200 pounds. Sure seems to a high price to me.

WWII which is not the focus of this forum, I have a few memorial crosses to the Irish Regiment of Canada.

Cameron,

To add to Gary's suggestions, you could add ranks, burial places, single medals, complete groups, gallantry award recipients... the list is pretty much limited by your imagination and your pocket.

What do you have in mind?

Hi Cameron

i collect to ww1 casualties after a visit to the Somme many years ago. that place blew me away and still does.