Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Howard Williamson's books

davidckahn

I am a novice medal collector and am trying to get some books to help me out. I currently live in Bosnia and make frequent visits into Central Europe where I regularly visit antique shops to browse the medals. I was thinking I would benefit from investing in Williamson's "Collector and Researcher's Guide" or "Collector's Companion."

From looking at the covers of the books, it looks like "Companion" deals only in British medals, but online searches do not confirm this. "Researcher's Guide" seems to cover more than just the British, but I'm hoping someone can clarify for me what countries these two books cover. Given my geographical disposition, I do not run across many medals from the UK or Western Europe, and would like to know before dropping $100+ on each of these books if they will be useful in medal-hunting. Presently, my focus is on the Interallied Victory Medal (I know these are easy to find but, like I said, I am a beginner), but am looking to educate myself so that I can begin some new strategies.

Would these books be worth buying, given my location and interests? If not, are there any others you can recommend?

I actually looked at that and was planning to buy it until it struck me that it seems to be only about British medals. There are various terms and acronyms in the description that, as a novice, I am not familiar with, but nothing that I see looks identifiably un-British to my as yet untrained eye. I am holding out hope that someone will tell me it includes medals from all the countries involved, given that the book's title seems to imply that.

I have them both in front of me now and much of the work is duplicated but the Collectors Companion is the better book in my opinion.