Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Regiment Identity

TheCount

First post and I have little or no knowledge of regiments. :blush:

I am trying to track down the WW1 regiment of the two soldiers.

I believe Soldier1 is King's Liverpool Regiment.

Soldier2 I cannnot quite make out the badge.

Any help much appreciated.

post-91707-0-16488100-1344187745_thumb.jpost-91707-0-01926200-1344187747_thumb.j

No.1 would agree KLR

No.2 looks like 7th City of London badge? Look left for an example :thumbsup: Regards Sean

1. KLR, agree with Shiny Seventh.

2. Notice that the hutments photo is by a Waterloo photographer which would exclude 7th Londons as they weren't in Lancashire to best of my knowledge. Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (similar pattern badge) were at Oswestry then West Lancs so are a real possibility and the Royal Munster Fusiliers embarked for Mudros via Liverpool so cannot be completely discounted. RNF* were all over the north but obviously tended towards the east, again cannot be discarded. Any chance of a close up of badge or shoulder title ?

Suddery

* Royal Northumberland Fusiliers - all three fusilier badges I've quoted are similar.

1. KLR, agree with Shiny Seventh.

2. Notice that the hutments photo is by a Waterloo photographer which would exclude 7th Londons as they weren't in Lancashire to best of my knowledge. Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (similar pattern badge) were at Oswestry in West Lancs so are a real possibility and the Royal Munster Fusiliers embarked for Munros via Liverpool so cannot be completely discounted. RNF* were all over the north but obviously tended towards the east, again cannot be discarded. Any chance of a close up of badge or shoulder title ?

Suddery

* Royal Northumberland Fusiliers - all three fusilier badges I've quoted are similar.

The second photo could also be Royal Welsh Fusiliers--possibly? or more likely Northumberland Fusiliers(without the Royal)