Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Horse Artillery Coat?

Dcolosio

Greetings all.. I am new here and I would very much appreciate if someone could help me identify the approximate age of this coat? I found it on a trip in Kentucky at a small antique store where the consignee was convinced it was from the civil war around the late 1800's. I have done some searching on my own and it seems that this is a Royal Horse Artillery Officers Coat?

Thanks so much for any assistance anyone can offer.

I will post some photos

Best Regards

post-89757-0-50686900-1335631629.jpg

post-89757-0-85676100-1335631643.jpg

post-89757-0-01232500-1335631659.jpg

Looks Victorian to me. Try asking at the Victorian Wars forum, they should know.

I'm not an expert, but the Lance Bombardier's stripe on the right sleeve and the Good Conduct badge on the right cuff, plus the signaller's badge, would tend to indicate it's not an officer's item. Also, I'd suspect the cuff lace is far from intricate enough.

I suspect the letters "RHA" might be some form of clue.

It is the Dolman type jacket of either a Bombardier (pre WW1) or a Lance Bombardier 1920s onwards in the Royal Horse Artillery (RHA). The braid (frogging) is of yellow worsted, as are the stripes. The uniform has changed very little up until the present day and so is difficult to date precisely without examination of labels and, or, ink stamps inside it.

post-599-0-92907300-1335649167.jpg

and the current version......

post-599-0-19994900-1335650324.jpg

Thank you very much for the help. :) I am not sure how to proceed further with aging the coat. I am on the way home from touring with Merle Haggard (I am his piano player) so I will see if I can get someone to look closer as I can take much better pictures when I am not on a tour bus.