Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Epitaphs and Inscriptions

chris basey

Does anyone know of a published collection of epitaphs, inscriptions from CWGC gravestones?

John Laffin wrote a book of ANZAC epitaphs on CWGC headstones called "We Will Remember Them". Published in 1992, it was being remaindered in Australia when I was out there in 2001, hence my ownership of a copy.

Guest Pete Wood

I have been dropping subtle hints, for the last six years, about making all the epitaphs available - along with the other details on the CWGC database.

I understand that at present the CWGC don't feel that the epitaphs should be made public. Perhaps, in time, this will change.

I'm not afraid to admit that I have, on many occassions, found some lines very moving.

Someone is doing a PhD on these and will publih the results in due course; I doubt if it will list them all, but certainly the interesting and unusual ones.

I have been dropping subtle hints, for the last six years, about making all the epitaphs available - along with the other details on the CWGC database.

I understand the final verification forms (the surviving ones from the Great War and all those from WW2) will be placed on line in the next few years; these were used to gather the details for the inscriptions.

Don't get too excited about the WW1 FVFs as the vast majority were destroyed in the early 1970s when CWGC moved to Maidenhead. The WW2 versions do still exist though.

Don't get too excited about the WW1 FVFs as the vast majority were destroyed in the early 1970s when CWGC moved to Maidenhead. The WW2 versions do still exist though.

Thanks for that Terry - I read an article recently that seemed to imply that there were still quite a few surviving, including Wilfred Owen's for example?

... I understand that at present the CWGC don't feel that the epitaphs should be made public. Perhaps, in time, this will change. ...