Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

UK TRAINING CAMP PLANS

agjmcvey

I am a part time Archaeology Student doing a dissertation on the Archaeology of WW1 training Camps in the UK. I am aware from Peter Simpkins book "Kitchener''s Army" and posts by Mooraker that a Major Armstrong at the Directorate of Fortifications and Works produced a standard layout or plan for a battalion. Does any know where I can get sight of this and the other plans subsequently produced?

Stewart and Sheen in "The Tyneside Scottish" refer to (Page 48) Alnwick camp being built to a specific design - namely WO Type Plan BD85/14 Authorised by Army Council Instruction 352/Sep/14. Gibson and Oldfield in "The Sheffield City Battalion"refer to (page 39) Redmires being built to standard design known as Type No 19. Again does anyone know where copies of these plans/layouts exist?

Any help in tracking down these designs or plans of over WW1 Training Camps would be very much appreciated.

Thank you

Eric

You could try National Archives WO 153/1256: Engineer in Chief's D and DP publications on constructing huts, shelters, bridges, reservoirs, stores etc with miscellaneous reports.

And I have these noted:

Design of wartime huts, WO Army Council Instruction 249, Sep 18, 1914. Specification of huts for Territorials and yeomanry, ACI 264 appendix XII. Rules for roads, drainage, water supplies for new hutted camps, ACI 119 appendix VIII, Nov 12, 1914. Various instructions, Dec 14, 1914,ACI 135. Provision of recreation huts, Dec 22, 1914, ACI 211.

ACIs are held at Kew, WO 293.

It's years since I noted these and I can't say whether any will help you.