Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

HMS Diligence

stanfree

Any help in finding information about HMS Diligence in the first world war, I’m trying to find information on a relative that is said to have served on this ship.

His name is Albert Ernest Lowick Russell he was born in 1876 Caldera Chile, he left Chile in 1892 to complete his education and he served some time in the Chatham DockYard in the Engineers Dep.

According to family history, he served on the HMS Diligence in the battle of Jutland. The only reference that I have of him is in the 1901 Census, living in Chatham.

I’m new to looking for service members, so any help is very welcome.

Stan.

Thanks for that, if I may ask, is there any sites that can give me the names of the men who served on the ship.

Stan.

Being a depot ship, Diligence was of course not present at Jutland, but destroyers attached to her may have been.

As HMS Diligence was a Depot Ship, she would have acted as a "Post Box" and accounting, pay centre etc for the destroyers equipment, munitions and men serving aboard her attached destroyers. As such her crew might just be a "skeleton" plus sailors being posted to her destroyers "passing through".

There are 8 recorded deaths for her crew, 4 of which would seem to have died ashore.

There appears to have been an incident on 4th November 1917 as those 4 casualties have no known grave and are on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial (apart from Lane who is on the Chatham Memorial).

001 ANDERSON J CLYDE 2/2702 HMS DILIGENCE 04/11/1917 ROYAL NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

002 BOWEN R 283955 HMS DILIGENCE 03/12/1916 ROYAL NAVY

003 DEGNAN T CLYDE Z/4880 HMS DILIGENCE 04/11/1917 ROYAL NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

004 LANE MH J/28033 HMS DILIGENCE 04/11/1917 ROYAL NAVY

005 MACPHERSON A M/15860(CH) HMS DILIGENCE 17/02/1919 ROYAL NAVY

006 MASTERS GA 312517 HMS DILIGENCE 15/02/1919 ROYAL NAVY

007 SPENCER WJH J/16315(PO) HMS DILIGENCE 29/10/1917 ROYAL NAVY