Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Who What When and Why of Hood Battn 9.11.18

ttrevorm

As this is my first time on this forum please forgive me if I do or say the wrong thing ( You know how us colonials are....).

On to business, my GF R 6556 Arthur Cardwell RNVR served with the Hood Battalion 1918-1920.

He was wounded on 9.11.1918.

Any information on what battle occurred and where would be great.

How do I check if his MM is correct.... I mean both his Victory and BW Medal are correctly engraved, but the MM we have is another name.

Any help would be muchly appreciated as there are not too many options here in OZ.

P.S. dont mention the cricket thanks.

UBIQUE

Thanks Moly

Until the experts get here, some bits from a casual observer. Royal Naval Divisions were men who were in the Royal Navy but served as infantry. They manned the trenches and took part in some great actions. For a lot more info you ought to go to The Long Long Trail link at the top of the page.

Hi Moly, welcome to the Forum. As another casual observer I would suggest searching the London Gazette on-line for info on the name on the MM. It is free to search but can be a bit of a pain. Have a go. You might be lucky. Good luck with your research. You might also want to leave a message on the naval bit of the Forum just in case there are people who never venture on to 'dry land'. Regards Sue

Len Sellers in his book "The Hood Battalion" sums up those November days as follows: