Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

311th Brigade RFA

Roger H

As you will see from my number of posts, I am new to all of this so apologies if my questions are naive. I am researching my maternal Grandfather who was Acting Major B Battery, 311th Brigade Royal Field Artillery. Whilst I have managed to glean a fair bit of information about him personally, I am trying to establish the movements of his Brigade. The Long Long Trail site says that the Brigade was part of the 62nd Division from formation in February 1915 until January 1917 when "becoming an Army Brigade". what does becoming an "Army Brigade" mean in practice.

Unfortunatley there is no information on the 62nd Division on The Long Long Trail website at the moment due to site reconstruction. When this is up and running will this be able to provide me with helpful information? And how do I get information post January 1917? Will this mean trying to get hold of the Brigade War Diaries and a trip to Kew?

Any information on 311th Brigade RFA would be gratefully received. Thanks in anticipation.

Hello Roger

Prior to May 1916, each division had four brigades of field artillery: three equipped with 18-pounder guns and one with 4.5-inch howitzers. Territorial brigades started the war with older weapons but these were mostly replaced during 1915.

In May 1916, by which time the brigades were mostly standardised at four batteries of four guns each, the div artillery was reorganised by means of battery swaps, so each of the four brigades consisted of three batteries of 18-pdrs and one (nearly always "D") of howitzers.