Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

ASC / Labour Corps

Keith D

Hi. I'm a newbie here, so please excuse me if I have posted to the wrong forum!

I recently found out that my Gt. Grandfather ( he was in the Boer war, before leaving the army around the time of my Granmothers birth in 1901 - or thereabouts ) re enlisted about 1915 in the Enniskillen Fusiliers. The family in Canada who new him ( He emigrated there in 1927, after re marrying in 1907, and went on to have a smaller second family ) say that although he didn't talk much about the war, he did say that he was a cook. Being that he was other ranks, not much detail about him is available, but I have managed to find that he had 3 service numbers, the first being the Fusiliers, then the ASC then the Labour Corps. Although I have no evidence to support my theory, I get the feeling that he may have stayed on in the army beyond the end of the war, which brings me to my question, when were the ASC and the Labour Corps formed? Any info would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Keith, I think I am correct in the fact that the Labour Corps was a War raised unit ie 1914-1918 and the ASC formed well before. Ralph.

Hi Ralph. many thanks for the info. Its something I have no idea about, and doesn't seem to get much of a mention anywhere! Thanks!

Hello Keith

The Army Service Corps (ASC) was formed late in the 19th Century but its predecessors such as the Royal Waggon Train go back much earlier. Its role was to provide supply and transport services.

The Labour Corps was formed in April 1917, mainly from men of lower medical categories, to work mainly in the rear areas, but some labour companies ASC were formed earlier than that, for the same duties, and I suspect that this is what happened to your man, possibly after being wounded.