Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Death Certificates, the necessity of.

Derek Robertson

What is the official line (i.e CWGC, MOD etc) regarding the necessity of producing a Death Certificate in the case of any non-commemoration?

I have no idea or knowledge of what happens in the rest of the UK but in Scotland we can usually buy an extract from Government sources at a fraction of the price of an official certificate and this shows everything that is shown on the full blown, full cost certificate. Is this admissible?

I am currently sitting on 23 non-com cases and there is little chance of me putting forward any names if I am charged £7+ just to be able to add the names in the hope, not expectation, of official endorsement.

Example below:

post-172-1207764019.jpg

Derek,

I only ever use full D.C's and yes each one costs me £7! There doesn't appear to be any signatures on the document you produce above which gives it an official certification. The MoD is most unlikely to accept this as certified fact. I'm sure it has been attempted in the past without success.

There doesn't appear to be sufficient room for cause of death either. I have had some cases where they died of a combination of more than 5 illnesses! It follows that some facts might not be fully recorded. Is this the actual register? If so then the only problem will be certification.

Rather than just sitting on them all, why not send them to me. I would be happy to cover all disbursements myself? They shall remain YOUR cases too.

How did you trace them all Derek? Seems you have been very very busy indeed... These men deserve to be commemorated. I'm not bothered who does it providing someone trys...

All the very best.

Neil

Neil,

The Scottish records of death are an official extract off the actual death certificate so the only thing missing off them is a signature from a G.P.