Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Australian Service Numbers

edergole

I hope some of the 'Australian' experts can help on this one.

I'm no expert on British Service numbers but it seems that on enlistment at a recruiting station an individual was immediately given the next number on the 'list' for that regiment and he became for example no 5555 and the fellow who came after him no 5556.

Having researched one Australian Unit the numbering seems to have been undertaken in a fundamentally different way. The original nominal roles run from for example 6900 through to 6990 in alphabetical order of recruits. It seems therefore that when the men signed up they were sent to a holding camp/training camp before being assigned to a unit and only at this stage were service numbers handed out. In this particular unit the dates of enlistment vary from July 1915 to September 1915 yet the alphabetical listing and number sequences run together. Clearly the numbers could not have been assigned until the last man joined otherwise the numbers would run out of sequence. The method would appear to suggest that for a period of time after enlistment a man could have no number which must have made administration difficult...or was there an interim number given?

Any one any idea on the Australian practice for issue of service numbers?

By way of illustration

Name No Enlistment Date

Green 6956 3/7/15

Hickey 6957 8/8/15

Higgins 6958 3/7/15

If Higgins joined with Green their numbers wouldn't be in sequence as Hickey is between them alphabetically.

Hoping I've mad myself clear?

Joe

Joe,

I can't really help you with regard to the Aussie service numbers, but I have come across similar patterns when looking at the Lincolnshire Regt numbers.