Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Three books just finished

specialops

I've just finnished the following three books and thoroughly enjoyed all of them

and they were all brought cheap at Superbooks (good place to look first).

Christmas Truce by Malcolm Brown and Shirley Seaton ISBN 0-300-39065-1

Defeat at Gallipoli by Nigel Steel and Peter Hart ISBN 0-330-49058-3

Found this book very interesting and couldn't put it down.

First Day on the Somme by Martin Middlebrook ISBN 0-141-39071-9

Another one I couldn't put down.

As I am a WW1 novice I found these Titles very easy to read and would recommend them to anyone starting out on the WW1 history.

Are there any others that you wuold recommend to a beginner ?

Hi specialops

Cheerful Sacrifice, The Battle of Arras 1917 by Jonathan Nicholls.

There's A Devil in the Drum by J.F. Lucy.

They Called it Passchendaele by Lye Macdonald.

Somme by Lye Macdonald.

To the Last Man, Spring 1918 by Lye Macdonald.

The Roses of No Man's Land by by Lye Macdonald.

GAS! The Battle for Ypres, 1915 by J. McWilliams & R.J. Steel.

A Sergeant-Major's War, from Hill 60 to the Somme by Ernest Shephard.

1914, The Glory Departing by Edward Owen.

Cannon Fodder, An Infantryman's Life on the Western Front 1914-18. by A.Stuart Dolden.

All very good reads.

Annette

Malcolm Brown's series of Imperial War Museum volumes( 'Western Front'. 'Somme' and '1918') together with 'The Hell They Called High Wood' by Terry Norman and 'Pillars of Fire' by Ian Passingham (about the battle of Messines) are all books in what could be described as the 'Middlebrook' tradition, ie putting personal accounts in the context of the battle as a whole. As has been stated before on this forum, I think that this is the weakness of Lyn Macdonald's otherwise excellent books, that she does not have the same grasp of the wider picture as these authors.