Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Who is this?

Fedelmar

I brought a few photographs off Ebay ... all have writing on the back but this one is a real hard one :)

All it has written on the back is 'yours truly' and yes ... all the photos are in the same handwriting although I can't read some of the writing.

I am not good with fiddling with photograph images to improve the quality and this, like a couple of the others is poor.

post-11785-1205643061.jpg

2) On the back of this one is 'captured fritz guns'.

My question is where and when????

1) This one is of 'fritz long range guns'.

My question is where and when and what rail and were they captured too?

post-11785-1205645378.jpg

post-11785-1205645402.jpg

4) 'Platoon comp in Mauh???? Square'

Who are these soldiers and what is the name of the square?

3) there is nothing on the back of this one so what can you tell me?

post-11785-1205644754.jpg

post-11785-1205644949.jpg

5) this one says "ruins at Abbey D'Auluc (Aulue)".

What can you tell me about the battle that caused the ruins and who was involved.

post-11785-1205645626.jpg

The 'things' stacked in one photo look very like pavanes used for mine sweeping. Normally towed they 'stream out' at an angle to the towing minesweeper and the connecting steel hawser cuts the mine moorings so that a following sweeper can spot them when they float to the surface and destroy by gun fire.

OK :)

Thanks that explains that ... I better go google now :)

Bright Blessings

Sandra

Interesting ... you boys a great ... if it is any help I can send across a larger file by email ... I scanned it at a fairly high resolution.

I still can't work out if he is Australian or English.

It looks like he is an Officer ... and has spurs which most officers wore ... but I can't quite make out the patch.

Bright Blessings

Sandra

Sandra,