Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte John East DCLI, later RE

Grace Talbot

Please excuse my ignorance but I'm new to WW1 family and military research.

I'm currently researching one of my great grandfathers, Pte John East 3/4939 DCLI, later 31703 RE.

I've managed to find his discharge documents and medal card on Ancestry but couldn't find his service papers - does this mean that they were destroyed in WW2 or would it still be worth looking at Kew?

From his discharge papers I've learnt that he joined 3rd Btn DCLI in 1912 and in 1916 re-enlisted (I think as a "Pioneer") in the Royal Engineers, serving in Archangel in 1919 before discharge on health grounds (flat fleet) in 1920. What I'd like to do now is find out more about his unit(s) and active service. Unfortunately I don't understand / can't make out some of the entries on his papers. Could anyone help with the following please?

IMG_0001.jpg

Entry dated 18/8/1915, looks like "To 2--s 10th Group Signalling Company RE". (--rd Army? crossed through)

Would this be a cpy of DCLI attached to the RE? He doesn't re-enlist in the RE until 31/7/16?? Btw, I'm rather confused that he "re-enlisted" in RE. Was re-enlistment the standard practice for transferring a soldier from 1 regiment to another?

IMG_0001_1.jpg

Looks like "Awarded 1st --badge or brigade" ? What does this mean please?

and lastly(for the pics!):

IMG_0001_2.jpg

In the "From whom received" column, does that read 238th Brigade Sig Company ? Also can anyone read and explain the 1st 3 lines of "Raised to -----rate of EP? etc".

And finally..............The cover of his discharge documents lists his unit as B Cpy 2TB, I take it that's a training battalion in the UK?

Lots of queries, sorry. Any input gratefully received!!!! Thanks :)

First - looks like HQ, could be 2nd Army and I think it is 10th Corps and not group.

The middle one is Good Conduct badge by the looks of it.