Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Modern Day Pilot looking for Grandfather RFC Pilot

ade146

I know its a bit naughty joining a forum and asking for advice, but I'm a bit stuck with my research and it would be great if someone could give me a few pointers.

As a modern airline pilot, I'm trying to find out some information about my Grandfather, Edwin Charles Williams, believed to be an RFC pilot.

He doesn't appear in any RFC MIC's. There are four possible Army MIC's, two main possibles, one of which is listed as RAMC, and the other listed as BRCS.

After the war he was a Sgt in St John's Ambulance, which would fit with the British Red Cross MIC.

None of the medal cards show him being in the RFC.

The BRSC MIC has a strange service number which looks like BRX/27/21. I assume that if he was transferred to the RFC, he would have been given an Army service number.

The RAMC service number is 564057.

Is it possible he could have been in the RFC, but that may not be reflected in the MIC?

Best regards

Capt Adrian Charles Williams

I know its a bit naughty joining a forum and asking for advice,

Thats how an awful lot started - don't worry about it. I'm sure a whole host will be along soon with advice.

Those two MICs seem odd units to transfer to the RFC as a pilot but I know some RAMCs did become medical orderlies in the RFC and possibly once there the conversion took place.

Welcome to the forum

1) Edwin Charles Williams, believed to be an RFC pilot.

2) He doesn't appear in any RFC MIC's. There are four possible Army MIC's

3) After the war he was a Sgt in St John's Ambulance, which would fit with the British Red Cross MIC.

4) None of the medal cards show him being in the RFC.

5) I assume that if he was transferred to the RFC, he would have been given an Army service number.

6) Is it possible he could have been in the RFC, but that may not be reflected in the MIC?