Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Frank Buckland Wheeler

holwellfrost

Hi I am very new to this.

I am trying to find out about my Grandfather, Frank Buckland Wheeler, who served in W W 1. My problem is that I don't know what Regiment he served with. I have a photo of him but it doesn't show anything obvious that could help me identify his Regiment, he is not wearing a cap and I can't see any insignia. He was wounded by shrapnel to his right arm resulting in amputation. I know for certain he received a Pension but I have not been able to find his details on Ancestry.

Please can you tell me if all Soldiers details are now on view at Ancestry or will there be more added in the future ?

I am desperate to find his details and don't know what to do next.

Thanks,

Ellen.

The "Pension Papers" on Ancestry are incomplete in so far as being a full series of Pension records. They are a selection of papers from various sources that escaped the firebombing of the main batch of service records in 1940. All the "Pension" papers have been put online - though there are not necessarily papers for all that got pensions, nor are all the papers related solely to pensions.

The "Burnt Series" have only A-C online, so Frank Wheelers papers may be in that series and not yet online. Only 30% of those papers survive.

Steve.

Thankyou both, Kevin & Steve.

My Grandfather was living in Gloucestershire I believe when he joined up/conscripted or whatever. I have viewed the MIC's before of the two you gave a link for but I'm not certain that either of them are his. Frank was born in 1880 so was in his mid thirties when the War started, he died in 1956 aged 74 yrs. I would like very much to find out all I can on him, I feel I owe it to him, the War ruined his life, his relationship with his Wife and two Daughter's, he lost everything and them.

Ellen.