Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Tolkien and the Great War

George Armstrong Custer

I wonder if anyone here has read the recent Tolkien and the Great War, and if so could give a review of it. Having seen it in the shops, I am thinking of buying a copy as a means of getting a handle on the man and what influenced his work. Frankly I am a complete novice when in comes to Hobbits or the Ring cycle, having read none of the books, and only seen the final movie in the trilogy recently with my children (stunning movie, btw!). I thought the Great War angle might be a useful way of introducing myself to what the fuss is all about in an (to me) interesting way.

Ciao,

GAC

I wonder if anyone here has read the recent Tolkien and the Great War, and if so could give a review of it. Having seen it in the shops, I am thinking of buying a copy as a means of getting a handle on the man and what influenced his work. Frankly I am a complete novice when in comes to Hobbits or the Ring cycle, having read none of the books, and only seen the final movie in the trilogy recently with my children (stunning movie, btw!). I thought the Great War angle might be a useful way of introducing myself to what the fuss is all about in an (to me) interesting way.

Hi

Sorry haven't read this book so can't offer any advice on that. However, I have read The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings and seen all three movies (several times). Whilst my personal impression of the books is excellent I also love the movies and can see relation to the Great War, especially in the second film The Two Towers where Frodo, Sam & Gollum/Smeagol are making their way through the dead marshes, even the battle scenes have some feeling toward it.

All I can say is, if you enjoyed Return of the King, it is well worth reading the books as they contain a staggering amount of details and also seeing Fellowship & Two Towers, although Return of the King is by far the best.