Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Connaught Rangers – Salonika and Palestine

Kirrawee

Hullo,

I am new to the Great War Forum and hope I'm posting this in the right place. My grandfather was Ernest William SMITH. I have recently obtained his service record but would like help in understanding it, if it isn't trying the Forum's patience too much. The following isn't all the information on his service record, but starts with his posting from the East Surrey Regiment to the 5th Battalion, Connaught Rangers. I presume he must have wanted to get into the War and enlisted in the Rangers? I have been told he was about 15 years older than most of the men.

I wondered what battles he might have been involved in in Salonika – and then he apparently got sick and seemed to be in hospital a lot, both in Salonika and later in Palestine. The Connaught Rangers were involved in the Battle for Beersheva, but I think he must have been in hospital again at that time. He was appointed to the Military Police in Palestine and at some point I'd like to ask Forum members about that, if anyone has information about the British MPs

Thank you,

Mary Williams :)

Appointed to temporary commission in 9th (Service) Battalion East Surrey Regiment (WO letter 112/Gen No. 2938 (M S 2) 27/3/15.

Station : London. 8.4.15

Date From whom Record … Place Date Remarks

Received

25.2.16 Unit Joined Battalion Field 18.2.16 B 213

25.2.16 Unit Reposted to 5th Field 22.2.16 B 213

Connaught

Rangers

5.5.16 Unit Admitted Hospital N.Y.D. Salonika 1.5.16 B 213

Unit Rejoined Field 30.7.16 B 158

30.9.16 List no 205? Appts. Comms. & Rewards Appointed temporary Captain. Vice-Captain Ash to England Field 9.7.16 R.O.

O.C.5 Crs To Hosp Field 17.8.17 B 158

Hello Mary and Welcome to the Forum.