Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Looking for Insight into Grandfathers RNR record

tonycee

Hello again, have received my Grandfathers service record from FAA museum today.Unfortunately I need assistance in understanding the terminology used!post-25520-1194022053.jpg

Please bear with me as this is my first attempt at uploading a file.

Hello Tommy,

Your grandfather was a Seaman R.N.R. & was granted a Good Conduct Badge 30/9/17 [worn on left arm] & 5 sea service chevrons for 1914/15/16/17/18 [worn above right wrist]. His Ability was Satisfactory & his Conduct was Very Good throughout his service until demobilisation on 12/5/19.

Ships & Shore Stations:-

Pembroke [also noted as "Pem"]; Chatham Naval Depot.

His Majesty`s Hired Trawler Emperor/ Meror: [ex Emperor], completed 1905, 250 tons gross, 1x3pdr & 1x2pdr guns, Admiralty No. 685, Port No. GY.94 [Grimsby]. Service from 1914 to 1920[also in WWII].

Attentive II; Parent for Auxiliary small craft at Dover 1914 to 1919.

Harrier; [1894 Gunboat] Depot Ship for Auxiliary Patrol, Ramsgate 1914 to 6/3/15 when replaced by Ceto until on 14/10/19.

President III amongst other duties was used for the accounts of officers & ratings on DAMS [Defensively Armed Merchant Ships].

THE S.S. Nordstrand was one of these DAMS . "Cummings saved from S/S/ Nordstrand stranded 19/3/18 reported at Chatham Depot 3/18".

Having written this out once, the mouse on my pc fell off the table & wiped it all off, so I`m going for a lie down now.

Hope the above helps you,

ARABIS.

Hello Tommy - Did your Grandfather have any connections with Grimsby other than the hired trawler Emperor / Meror? There were a few sea fishing apprentices named Cummings.

Cheers, Terry

Hi Arabis, thanks very much for your input, I wondered what Pembroke(Wales) had to do with his naval time!

Would any of these vessels have a medium sizes gun? He gave me the impression that he had been some sort of gunner!