Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Mons Ribbon to Nurse E. M. Chambers

Andrew Hesketh

Nurse E. M. Chambers, of Abergele, was awarded the 'Mons Ribbon'. She was a Nurse by profession and volunteered her services early in the war - certainly prior to Jan 1915. She was serving at Bangor Military Hospital in March 1918.

A 'Mons Ribbon' - was this issued with the same criteria as the 1914 Star?

not heard of one - unless it was in reference to getting the medal ribbon prior to getting the actual medal

Hi, never heard of the mons ribbon but as she has a MIC its possible she won either the 1914 star or 15 star.The award are the same criteria for soldiers and nurses. Im sure Sue Light will have a recoerd of her.

Description Medal card of Chambers, Eleanor M

Corps Regiment No Rank

Queen Alexandra's Imperial Military Nursing Service British Red Cross Society Nursing Sister

St Johns Nurses Nursing Sister

Date 1914-1920

Catalogue reference WO 372/23

Dept Records created or inherited by the War Office, Armed Forces, Judge Advocate General, and related bodies

Series War Office: Service Medal and Award Rolls Index, First World War

Piece Women's Services, Distinguished Conduct Medals and Military Medals

Image contains 1 medal card of many for this collection

Excellent, thanks chaps. Glad I wasn't alone in wondering what it was!

I am hoping that Sue drops in....

found this hopes it of help - Jennifer

The Brittish journal of nursing - Volume 53, 7th November 1914 (p362)

ST. JOHN AMBULANCE ASSOCIATION,

The following nurses have recently been sent abroad by the St. John Ambulance Association

To Dunkirk.-To the British Field Hospital :

Miss C. Mayne and Miss A. Scanlan.

Care of The Duchess of Sutherland : Miss Heron-Watson.

To Calais.-To the Baltic Exchange Hospital :

Misses G. Ryder, F. E. Wood, J. McGeorge and A. Barron. Also Missses A. C. Beverley, E. Charteris,