Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

India cemeteries - New Delhi - I'll be there Feb.

Guest Pete Wood

Guest Pete Wood

I will be visiting New Delhi, India, in early February. I am happy to take high resolution digital photos while I am there of any cemeteries or memorials.

It's my first time there, so I am not too sure of the names (or locations!!) of the cemeteries. But the CWGC gives the following:

DELHI / KARACHI 1939-1945 WAR MEMORIALS

DELHI 1914-1918 WAR MEMORIAL

DELHI MEMORIAL (INDIA GATE)

DELHI WAR CEMETERY

NEW DELHI JEWISH CEMETERY

Requests by the 5th February 2004, please.

RTpots

There are no names inscribed upon the Delhi 1914-1918 War Memorial and the Delhi 1939-1945 War Memorial. However, the names are inscribed in Hindi and Urdu on a Roll of Honour (book) within the memorials.

Thanks for the generous offer RT, and I hope you don't mind a request for a second war casualty, one of my Sandbach men!

Could I have a photo of the headstone of George Leese 947317 Gunner 136 Field Regt RA d. 30/08/44 Grave 2 D 2 in Delhi War Cemetery, please? And a general view of the cemetery please?

Have a great trip - I read about the memorial moulds - putting two and two together and making seven, will we be hearing of the "Delhi Durbar" Teapot? :D

Thanks for the offer - any photos of ANY Royal Sussex Regiment graves or names from either World War would be of interest.

Let me know any costs involved.

I would like to take you up on your kind offer. Could you please photograph the following if you have time.

Delhi War Cemetery: Martin J 20575 1st Bn Oxford and Bucks. Ref 9B3

Delhi Memorial: Page: GF, Shipman: RT & Thorpe: FG all Oxford & Bucks

Many Thanks

Lesley

Pete (RT),

Thanks for you kind offer. I do have 3 Romsey guys that I would like to get photo's of their headstone or memorial inscriptions:

Corporal 855206, Frederick William ARCHER

1089th Battery, 216th Brigade, Royal Field Artillery

KIA 14th May 1919