Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cap Badges

thegreatwar

I'm by no means an expert on WW1 cap badges, but were they Bi-metal or just all one standard metal?

What was the metal?

Were they fitted with sliders or lugs?

When did the sliders come about?

Were the sliders a different metal from the main badge (Bi)?

Many thanks.

Yasman,

At the beginning of the war cap badges were either brass, bi-metal, white metal or blackened brass according to the regimental pattern. For example the Royal Scots were bi-metal, the Buffs were brass, the Gordon Highlanders were white metal and the Kings Royal Rifle Corps were blackened brass. The whilte metal of the badges had nickel in them which was also used in the manufacture of ammunition. Because of a shortage of nickel, in 1916 badges previously made in bi-metal or white metal were struck in brass until the end of the war.

Regards

Chris

Cap Badges generally have sliders,though many variants have lugs & split pins,Officers in general have "blades",Sliders are normally in Brass,regardless of Badge metal,but again exceptions prove the rule,I would suggest a look @ Gaylor's Book Collecting Cap Badges,or Kipling & King,for further reference,Badge collecting is both a frustrating & enthralling hobby & new variants will turn up in the most unexpected places!

Not an exact science...

As Harry says not an exact science and there are exceptions to every rule. In general slider came into use in early Edwardian time and by WW1 most (but by no means all) cap badges came with sliders. I have an EVII RE badge on a slider but most slidered badges are post 1908.