Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Sacrifices on the homefront

Steve Torres

I am a high school history teacher in California and I am trying to make connections for my students on America's war in Iraq today to past wars. A goal of mine is to show them how different life today is for civilians living in a country at war than in WWI and WWII

Fortunately, I have some elderly neighbors (age 90) who live next door to me and tell me stories of living in America during WWII. They share how gasoline was rationed and their wedding gift from their friends were gas rationing coupons so they could have a short honeymoon in Lake Tahoe which is only 90 miles away. Great stories to share but I need more of them.

Does anyone have any good stories of rationing/sacrifices people in the US/France/UK/Germany etc... had to make during the war? Obviously French and Russian citizens experienced the war at home which is something Americans didn't have to, but I am looking for specific laws or rules that civilians have to follow.

Although my country is at war today, the only ones that are really being called to sacrifice are the soldiers in the military and their families. They only way my life has seemed to change since the start of the war is that I have to wait longer at the airport to get on a plane. Historically, it doesn't seem fair.

Thanks,

Steve in Sacramento

Steve,

I would highly recommend Richard van Emdens & Steve Humphries' book 'All Quiet on the Home Front' click HERE for a good idea and myriad stories of what life was like in the UK during the First World War. An engrossing read.

Good luck,

Jeremy