Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

2nd battalion W Yorks

tracyej

Hi

I'm new to this so apologies for my complete lack of knowledge.

I have today received a copy of my great grandfather's marriage cert and find that his occupation is listed as Lance Corporal in the 2nd Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment. The date of the marriage was 10 Sept 1915 and his name is Richard Cameron Lockhart.

I know very little about this man and am thrilled to have found out even this little snippet of info but I would welcome any suggestions on how to find out more about the man himself, his time in the army and some more about the his battalion and regiment.

I asked my Mum if she new anything about his military history and all she could tell me was that they used to refer to "three stripes and a crown" in her family when talking about him. Can anyone shed any light on that for me please?

Many thanks

Tracy

Hi Tracy,

This might be him. This is a Medal Index Card (MIC), which can be downloaded from the National Archives for £3.50.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...p;resultcount=4

I can't find any MICs under the name of Richard Cameron etc for West Yorkshires, however, that doesn't mean that's not correct as his medal card may have been lost.

This is a link to help you:

http://www.1914-1918.net/grandad/grandad.htm

But some of the questions I have are did he survive the war? Do you have anything like a service number to go on?

These can help to narrow it down.

Steve

Hi Steve

Thanks for those links

I have downloaded the MIC and yes, that could be him. I'll need to research some more I guess.

He did survive the war and lived until at least 1923 when my grandmother was born. I don't have much more information, such as service numbers etc, however I think he was born approx 1886 and he married a munitions worker in 1915 in Bradford.

I'd love to find out more about him because he is somewhat of an enigma in our family tree.

Best regards