Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Died 1917 Pow 1919?

Steve Bramley

Hi,

I've got details for a Pte 242145 Jack Fawcett d.11/4/17, SDitGW and CWGC and yet he appears on the AVL as a prisoner of war?

Any explanations out there?

Thanks,

Steve.

Thanks Chris,

I should have mentioned that i am not experienced with using the Absent Voters List. I assumed it was an official government document but i'm now assuming that relatives compiled the list. I have found three others similar to J.Fawcett. Relatives must have been holding out some hope and perhaps that a loved one was reported missing and 'heard' that they could have been a POW.

Could anyone shed some light on this for me?

Regards,

Steve.

Steve

The Absent Voter's List for Lancing, West Sussex, contains quite a few men already dead by the time the list was compiled. Three died very near to, or after the date the list was compiled, but the other four were all men who died in situations where there was a likelihood that they could have been prisoners of war. Three of these were casualties of 'Kaiserschlacht,' and all had dates of death [eventually] between 21/3/18 and 31/3/18, and the fourth man was a prisoner of war of the Turks following the siege of Kut, and although his date of death is now given as 30/9/16, presumably there was still a tiny hope then that he could have survived.

Regards - Sue

Steve

The AVL is an official document - compiled by the local council. AVL still sort of exist today and are the list of people entitled to vote by post as they are "absent" for an approved reason, so cannot vote in person.

I presume that once they had been listed as a prisoner, they would stay on the list until there was a decison that they were dead.

The official reason for keeping on the list will, no doubt, also be so that no-one could turn up to vote pretending to be them.

John