Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The naval war around the British Isles

swizz

Morning all

This is a rather broad question I'm afraid but I am more or less a total novice in this area.

Are there any particular books I could read to find out about the war in the seas around the British Isles? I'm particularly interested in minefields around Ireland but not sure where to begin.

Yours hopefully

Swizz

Swizz,

Although it is a broad brush, a good starting point.

The Imperial War Museum-Book of the War at Sea 1914-1918 by Julian Thompson.

Paperback Edition is printed by Pan Books ISBN-13:978-0-330-49172-3 or ISBN-10:0-330-49171-5.

I picked my copy up in Gatwick Airport for £9.99 if that's any help :D

George

Swizz,

E. Keble Chatterton.

Danger Zone. The Story of the Queenstown Command with 40 plates and 3 maps.

The Auxilliary Patrol.

Contemporary accounts a good read and informative.

Regards Charles

Thanks George and Charles to you both. I will try and get hold of both of these. Up til now I have basically been looking at the infantry and I'd forgotten how hard it is starting a new subject from scratch!

Swizz

Here's some more:

"TAFFRAIL" (Taprell DORLING) 'Endless story: being an account of the work of the destroyers, flotilla-leaders, torpedo-boats and patrol boats in the Great War.' Avoid the 6th abridged edition! Plenty of choice in libraries or on Abebooks of better editions.

Roy Humphreys, ‘The Dover Patrol, 1914-18’ ISBN: 0750919671 Publisher: Sutton Publishing

Admiral Sir Reginald Bacon, ‘The Dover Patrol 1915 -1917.’

Admiral Sir Reginald Bacon, ‘The Dover Patrol 1915 -1917.’

If you go for this one, look out for the 'Concise Story of the Dover Patrol', which is a one-volume condensation of the 2-volume edition. Although a couple of highly technical chapters are omitted, the content is otherwise the same, with some revisions and additions of new material.

Mick